ITIL stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library. ITIL is the most popular framework for IT service management. Information technology is an ever-evolving field. Every technology is constantly learning, evolving, or advancing. ITIL creators need to keep their framework updated in order to keep up with new technologies. Axelos Limited has recently released an updated version of the ITIL. Continue reading to learn more about the new ITIL version 4, its predecessor ITIL 3 and the main differences between ITIL 3 and 4.
ITIL V3 Framework
ITIL v3 – ITIL’s third edition of its trademarked framework. This framework is internationally recognized and includes many best practices in information technology management. ITIL promotes the idea that information technology can be a service that helps businesses achieve their goals. ITIL v3 was launched in 2007 and has been recognized worldwide as a leader in ITSM. ITIL’s top feature is its ability to adapt to changing business environments. ITIL v4 was created to keep up with industry trends such as Agile, DevOps and Lean. This version was created to meet the needs both of IT organizations and customers.
ITIL V4 Framework
The fourth version of the ITIL framework includes enhanced strategic elements that simplify and improve the alignment of IT service management and overall business objectives. ITIL v4 was released in early 2019, and is a key component in creating a process for IT service management. This model provides an end-to-end approach to operations that allows you to create, deliver, and continuously improve tech-driven products and services.
ITIL v4 can also be used to guide organizations in the right direction in order to address the rising challenges of service management. It allows the effective use of modern technology, which is essential in an environment that relies on Agile, Cloud, digital transformation and DevOps.
The ITIL Service Value System (ITIL) and the four-dimensions model are the core elements of the ITIL framework. These are the core elements of the ITIL SVS.
ITIL practices
SVC (Service Value chain)
ITIL guiding principles
Continual improvement
Difference between ITIL V3 & V4:
The fourth version of ITIL encourages less siloed systems and collaboration, greater communication facilitation across enterprises, DevOps, Agile integration with ITSM strategies, and lower silos. This framework allows for greater customization and flexibility. It is a more holistic IT infrastructure view.
ITIL v4 is more concerned with things like value and costs, risks, and results. ITIL Practitioner’s strong ideas are the foundation of this fourth edition. These principles are:
Focus on